Our Team

The National Brain Appeal team is based just a few steps from The National Hospital.

 

Theresa Dauncey

Chief Executive

theresa.dauncey@nhs.net

Marcelle Johnson

Head of Fundraising & Communications

marcelle.johnson@nhs.net

Anna MacLeod

Fundraising Manager

Anna.macleod3@nhs.net

Alexis Gebbie

Senior Fundraising Officer
(Challenges & Individuals)

alexis.gebbie@nhs.net

Eva Tait

Major Appeals Manager
(Rare Dementia Support)

eva.tait@nhs.net

Jane Ferguson

Innovation Fund Manager

jane.ferguson9@nhs.net

Cara Lavocah

Digital Media &
Publications Manager

cara.lavocah@nhs.net

Marie Mangan

Press & PR Consultant

marie.mangan@nhs.net

Tina Somorin

Finance Manager

tina.somorin@nhs.net

Kim Heron

Governance & Charitable Projects Liaison Officer

kim.heron@nhs.net

Lisa Finch

Office Manager

lisa.finch5@nhs.net

Shaun Askew

Supporter Care
Administrator

shaun.askew@nhs.net

Julia Lipton

Supporter Care Administrator & Events Coordinator

julia.lipton@nhs.net

Sebastian Farias

Fundraising Apprentice

Sebastian.farias1@nhs.nett

Our Trustees

The Trustees determine the direction and policy of The National Brain Appeal in response to requests from The National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery.

The members are elected by Council (which comprises the directors of the company) to serve a period of three years. Ad hoc committees, which include the trustees, are formed to run periodic special events. The trustees, who meet at least four times a year, have delegated the day-to-day administration of the charity to the Chief Executive, Theresa Dauncey.

Chairman, Peter Stone

Peter began his working life as a lawyer, and with a few former colleagues established the investment bank Close Brothers. His board roles have included: committee member for the British Bankers Association, a non-executive director (NED) of a listed domiciliary care business, an NED of major property business DTZ and until 2014, chair of the government’s Waste & Resources Action Programme (WRAP).

Caroline Church (nee Althaus)

Caroline’s family have been involved with The National Hospital since its inception.

Edward Datnow FRCS

Edward is a retired surgeon. Previously vice president of the Epilepsy Society. He is also chairman of the Age Endeavour Fellowship.

Joanna David

Joanna is a well-known actor (and patient at The National Hospital for Neurology & Neurosurgery).

Professor John Duncan

John is the medical Director of the National Society for Epilepsy and Professor of Neurology at the Institute of Neurology of University College London.

Joan Grieve

Joan is a neurosurgeon. She’s a member of Society of British Neurosurgeons, the British Neurovascular Group and an international member of the Congress of Neurological Surgeons.

Professor Mike Hanna

Mike is Director of the Institute of Neurology; and a consultant neurologist with longstanding interest in muscle diseases.

Elizabeth Kornat

Elizabeth is a lawyer (and patient at The National Hospital for Neurology & Neurosurgery).

Herchel Maclear-Jordan

Herchel has a scientific background and a career spanning education, commerce and property development. She started fundraising for The National Hospital in 1993, helping to organise many successful social events.

Diarmid Ogilvy (Treasurer)

Diarmid has over 20 years’ investment experience in both the public and private financial markets. He is a founding director of ValuAnalysis, an Investment Advisory boutique.  As an investor and non-executive director, he also leads a number of direct private equity investments. He is a stakeholder governor of UCLH (University College London Hospitals).

Michael Powell

Michael is an Emeritus Consultant Neurosurgeon at The National Hospital and author of The Management of Pituitary Tumours (2004). He came second in The Observer Cook of the Year competition in 1983 and – along with his wife – has taken on a number of treks and overseas challenges in aid of The National Brain Appeal.

Michael Smith

Michael is a retired solicitor and non-executive director of three insurance entities. He is also a trustee of The Foyle Foundation.

Professor Alan Thompson

Alan is a Garfield Weston Professor of Clinical Neurology and Neurorehabilitation; the Dean of Faculty of Brain Sciences at UCL; and Divisional Clinical Lead, CEL LCRN.

Dr Chris Turner

Chris is the Divisional Clinical Director for The National Hospital for Neurology & Neurosurgery and a Consultant Neurologist. His research interests are in Myotonic Dystrophy and Acute Neurological Services.

Where Next

Stroke
Key Facts & Figures
The National Hospital and The Institute of Neurology

Subscribe to our e-letter

GET IN TOUCH

Postal address

The National Brain Appeal
Box 123
Queen Square
London
WC1N 3BG

020 3448 4724
info@nationalbrainappeal.org

 

Office address

The National Brain Appeal
3rd Floor
Ormond House
26/27 Boswell Street
London WC1N 3JZ

Registered Charity No. 290173. A limited company registered in England. No. 1844281