About us

short_line content-donate short_line justtextgiving

The National Brain Appeal (formerly known as The National Hospital Development Foundation) is the charity dedicated to raising vital funds for The National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery, Queen Square, London. Since the charity began in 1984 we have raised over £40m for state-of-the-art equipment, major building programmes and life-saving research.

Our vision is to improve the outcome and quality of life for the one in six affected by a neurological condition. We do this by funding pioneering research, providing access to the best technology for expert diagnosis and treatment, and training tomorrow’s clinicians.

We have grouped our funding into six distinct areas so that you can clearly see the impact of your donations. Our 2016-2017 Annual Review was published on 27 June and you can read the stories of just some of the people who have benefited from your generous support.

We are grateful to all our supporters who help us to raise money in a variety of ways from gifts-in-kind, to individual donations, legacies and support from grant-making trusts.

You can find out more about this incredible hospital by clicking here.




back to top


The National Brain Appeal raises money in a number of ways:

  • Through donations from grant-making trusts, individuals and companies
  • Through legacies and ‘In Memoriam’ donations
  • Through fundraising by our supporters
  • Through challenge events which our supporters take on
  • Through sales of merchandise, such as cards and notelets
  • Through ticket sales to our events
  • Through CSR programmes, such as Charity of the Year

back to top


The National Brain Appeal is a small team of eight (only three full-time). Our office is a few steps from The National Hospital.

Theresa Dauncey
Chief Executive

Marcelle Johnson
Head of Fundraising

Brooke Parsons
Fundraising Co-ordinator (Events & Corporates)

Eva Tait
Fundraising Manager – Rare Dementia Support

Cara Lavocah
Writer and Social Media Manager

Leigh Stanger
Charity Finance Manager and EA to Chief Executive

Tina Somorin
Administrative Assistant



The Trustees determine the direction and policy of The National Brain Appeal in response to requests from The National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery. The members are elected by Council (which comprises the directors of the company) to serve a period of three years. Ad hoc committees, which include the trustees, are formed to run periodic special events. The trustees, who meet at least four times a year, have delegated the day-to-day administration of the charity to the Chief Executive, Theresa Dauncey.

Chairman, Peter Stone
Caroline Church, Edward Datnow FRCS, Joanna David, Professor John Duncan, Joan Grieve, Professor Mike Hanna, Elizabeth Kornat, Herchel Maclear-Jordan, Diarmid Ogilvy (Treasurer), Michael Smith, Professor Alan Thompson.


back to top


Email address

Postal address
The National Brain Appeal
Box 123
Queen Square
T: 020 3448 4724
F: 020 3448 3698

Office location
The National Brain Appeal
3rd Floor
Ormond House
26/27 Boswell Street

short_line Fun Raise short_line home-content-heroes short_line